Keeping It Real With Veggie Lasagna

Today was a perfect day.

It was a beautiful 80 degrees during the day and evening had just a touch of chill to the air. Matt mowed the lawn while Maeve and I supported him.

photo (4)

Afterwards we eat our delicious Veggie Lasagna outside on the blanket. It was one of those nights that reminded me of when I was little girl.

Now that I am almost 8 months post pregnancy I am going to focus on losing the last little big of weight I put on while pregnant. Well, actually, I have lost the weight but I still have a little chub around the middle I don’t want to see this summer.

With that said, I am trying to watch what I eat for snacks and how much sugar I get each day. While I am still breastfeeding I am not focusing on calorie intake because I need the calories to keep my little baby nice chubby. Now, instead of reaching for crackers or chips when I get hungry between meals I am trying to eat fruit in the morning and vegetables in the afternoon. When I want a cookie I have a small glass of fresh juiced orange or grapefruit juice (its whats in season and available on my moms trees) or a few almonds and raisins.

I have also upped my exercise routine. I have joined the wonderful Stroller Strides of Phoenix and am LOVING it!! It is a wonderful workout where we do far more than stride! I was having a hard time finding the time to exercise with a new baby, when, where how?! Stroller Strides allows you to bring your baby!!! I love this since I don’t want to leave her for an hour everyday.

On the days that I don’t attend Stroller Strides I try to hike, go for a run or do yoga. For yoga I highly recommend yogaglo.com. An online yoga center that has TONS of classes to chooses from!! I am not good at leading myself through yoga so this site is great for me.

Here I am mixing exercise with fun at a Mom’s Night Out doing poll dancing!

photo (5)

Hiking with the hubby and baby girl.

photo (6)

Hiking with my sisters and their babies on another day.

photo (7)

And here is the dish we had for dinner. Please try it out and let me know what you think!



photo (2)

Both my husband and I think that layering with the spinach and cheese on top really make it feel like there is more cheese than there really is.

Overall this dish has a ton of veggies but tastes like it could have pasta in it. We enjoyed it!

photo (3)

Veggie Lasagna

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 table spoon olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 carrots, diced
2 celery stalks, diced

1 cup mushrooms, sliced
3 zucchini, sliced length wise
1 cup spinach leafs 
1 cup mozzarella, grated
2 cups marinara sauce

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large frying pan heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Sauté the onion and garlic till onion is translucent. Add spices. Add the carrots, celery and mushrooms. Cook till tender.

In an 8×13 pan start your layering. First layer the marinara sauce, then cooked onion/carrot/celery/mushroom mixture. Then layer the zucchini strips, then the spinach leafs, then half the mozzarella. End with mozzarella.

Cook for 25-30 minutes till the top cheese layer is a nice crispy brown (at least that’s how I like it).

Let cool for 5-10 minutes.

Serves 4-6

Then, enjoy! Let me know how you like this recipe. I made it up myself!!

What do you think?

