What’s for Dinner – Agave Lime Chicken with Asparagus and Toasted Coconut Butter Cookies

At the start of each week I try to have my meal agenda for the week. Go shopping on Sunday evening and plan my meals for week.

Each Monday starts out well, I make exactly what I planned for the week. Delicious and ready to go once Matt gets home. By the end of the week however, things get a little less organized. Things come up; friends want to go out to dinner (we want to go out to dinner), working late, don’t feel like what I planned, etc.

This is why I have tried to become more flexible with my planning. I have been trying to plan by main dish and side dishes with lots of options for salads. This gives me the flexibility of deciding what main dish I want to make and what side dishes I feel like for each night. So far it has  been working well.

This week I found a great recipe on Elana’s Pantry website, Agave Lime Chicken. However, since I didn’t have a whole chicken I used chicken tenders that I had on hand.

Here is my version of Elana’s recipe.

Agave Lime Chicken
Ingredients
  • Chicken tenders or breasts (I used about 2 pounds of chicken tenders)
  • 1-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • ¼ cup agave nectar
  • Dash of celtic sea salt
  • 1 lime
  • Half a red onion, sliced
  • 4 cloves of fresh garlic
  • dash cumin dash chili powder
Directions
  1. Rinse the chicken and pat dry
  2. Place chicken in a baking dish
  3. Drizzle with olive oil and agave, then sprinkle with salt, cumin and chili powder
  4. Cut the lime into quarters, squeeze the juice from one quarter of the lime over the chicken and place the other quarters in the pan
  5. Cut the onions in half and place in the pan
  6. Leaving the skin on the garlic, break the head apart and scatter the cloves around the pan
  7. Bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes until inside temperature reaches 165 °F
  8. Remove chicken from oven and raise heat to 450°
  9. Remove chicken from oven
  10. Drizzle with pan juices and lime before serving
  11. Sauté the asparagus in a pan for about 8 mins with a dash of salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder. Serve along with chicken.
Serves 4

Now for dessert!

My pictures below DO NOT do these tasty little cookies justice.

They only take about 10 minutes to make and once they come out of the oven, you will hardly be able to keep your hands off them. I found the recipe on a new blog I found, Studio Cuisine.

Whip up a batch now and by the time your chicken is done cooking, you will be able to put these right into the oven. Enjoy!

Toasted Coconut Butter Cookies
Ingredients
  • 1/3 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 and 1/2 cups + 2 tbsp almond flour*
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 5 (I used 4) tbsp butter, melted in saucepan over low heat
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar (or honey for SCD)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Spread coconut flakes out on baking sheet, and bake for 2-3 minutes until lightly toasted. Remove from oven.
  3. Mix almond flour, baking, soda, and sea salt in a medium-sized bowl.
  4. Combine melted butter, agave nectar, and vanilla extract.
  5. Add wet ingredients into dry and mix together.
  6. Fold in toasted coconut
  7. Roll dough into 1 inch balls, and place on parchment lined baking sheet.
  8. Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.

3 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner – Agave Lime Chicken with Asparagus and Toasted Coconut Butter Cookies

  1. Caitlin, you are so inspiring! Love you friend! Hoping to try this chicken sometime soon! LOVE YOU! Can’t wait to meet your little lady!!

What do you think?

