Water Aerobics – not your granny’s workout

Water aerobics is awesome! Who knew the resistance of water could be such a challenge?

Last week I took my first water aerobics class and I am impressed!

I am in the process of learning to teach water aerobics. Due to my growing belly I guess I need to slow down with the body works classes. Initially, I was disappointed that my body was changing without the consideration of allowing me to continue my exact routine (very rude). Fortunately, I have found this great alternative. Water aerobics combines both cardio and resistance training! The best of both worlds!

I know I know, who wants to workout with a bunch of grandmas? Well, put that past you quick because grandma is onto something good! Water aerobics has many great benefits. Just like any other exercise, the more you challenge yourself the more you will get out of it.

Benefits of water aerobics

Low impact – Exercising in water makes you feel about 90 percent lighter, reports the American Council on Exercise. This makes the water a perfect fit for those with knee, back or joint issues, those with arthritis, pregnant women and obese individuals.

Strength – The simply resistance of the water, plus kicking and cupping the water helps to develop muscle mass, thus translating into a higher metabolism and healthier body. (We all want our bodies to workout without while sitting on the coach, right?). To increase resistance many water aerobics classes uses water dumb bells, kick-boards, and/or buoys.

Calorie burn -It has been proved that through this form of aerobics, one can burn 400-500 calories.

Short Water Workout- Try it in your (or your gyms) pool, or come to my class (coming soon!)

Jogging with arms – start jogging, bring your knees as high as you can, engage your abdominal’s, arms swing opposite of your legs, get your elbows nice and high, cup your hands to increase resistance. Do 6 sets of 30 seconds sprint (as fast as you can!!!), with 1 minute rest between sets. Your heart will be pumping.

Butt kick with pull/push – stand tall, engage abs, roll shoulders back. Start with your right leg, engage your hamstrings and kick your butt with your heel, alternate left, right, left, right, etc. With your arms with a slight bend in the elbows push the water forward and pull the water back behind you. Continue for 2 minutes, rest for 30 seconds, and repeat 5 times. 

Caitlin

What do you think?

